#Knitcircle gift

WARNING: POSSIBLE TRIGGER ABOUT DEATH

Hi Knit Friends, in the knitting world, crafters are privy to some of the most heart wrenching and endearing moments when they enter a knitting circle. 2016 has been a challenging year. I have gained a better perspective, taken more risks, and experienced a great loss. In my knitting circle, I am never disappointed because I always leave a little lighter.

20161128_093513.jpg

I had a heartwarming chat with a new knit friend (Named V34). This is my first experience with a major death in my family. Only in a knit circle could one find sage advice. V34 shared her story of dealing with the loss of her husband. I was able to listen to her share and figure out how best to show up for my aunt. Several helpful things that I took from the talk was to let my aunt know that I am available for her, let our family grieve as they see fit, and to be of service for the bereaved. Even before his death, I had often come to the knit circle to vent or listen to fellow knitters. Knitting has become a way for me to focus my nervous energy. I would probably be bald from twisting my hair if I didn’t have knitting. I was working on Wheat Fields (picture above), but in my grief screwed up the sequence of lace. Just as life we can choose to handle things in certain ways. I chose to just leave the error because to an untrained eye the shawl has character. Perhaps a year ago, I’d rip out the large lace sequence- but not I’m just riding it out because my uncle lived his life with ease and humor. Rest easy Uncle.

wp-image-1566520692jpg.jpg

2 thoughts on “#Knitcircle gift

  1. Midnight Knitter November 28, 2016 / 10:53 AM

    I could not function without my knitting circle. I’m glad that you have that support, but I am so sorry for your loss. One of my knitting friends told me, when speaking of her husband’s death, you’ll never get over it, but it does get better in time. Hugs!

    • Ge Ge November 28, 2016 / 11:32 AM

      Yeah, when I think about my uncle I realize that he was at many of my milestones growing up. Even now we would call each other all the time and talk about everything. His football team is doing so well. It would be something if they make it to the play offs. It hurts a lot this loss because he was such a great guy. I appreciate your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

