Goodbye Grief

goodbye-grief

It’s with shock I share these words to no one in particular. It’s probably something that I would share with my uncle. I met my uncle when I was only eight years old. He was a big guy, over six feet tall. He was one of the most important people in my life. We talked at least three times a week. From football, politics, higher education- he was always there for me. When he married my aunt twenty years ago, he also treated me like a daughter. The last five years were the best because I felt like he made an effort to get to know me as an adult. Sometimes I think its hard for parents to ever see their children as anything else. My uncle did. He was consistent, honest, intelligent, and loved unconditionally. He was very compassionate and never let his heart harden despite how the world treated him. He always had a story and lived life as if it were his last day. His optimism and hope will forever be remembered. I don’t know if I’ll ever meet anyone else like him. He loved me as his own and the world will never be the same. Rest peacefully Uncle T.

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Grief

  1. stellardiva November 21, 2016 / 4:06 PM

    I am so sorry to hear about your Uncle T! I have 3 uncles who have been my rocks, each at different times, and I feel I understand the love you have for your uncle. It is a rare and treasured thing! Hugs and love!

  2. Nicky November 21, 2016 / 7:54 PM

    So sorry to hear of your loss. I’m happy that you got a chance to really know him and he you.

Leave a Reply

