Grace, Gratitude & Handmades

Good afternoon Knit friends,

It’s ‘HumpDay’ Wednesday and I already feel like I have ran a marathon. I have come to the tail end of interviews and hope to have closure sometime after the holiday break. Monday was a sad time for many of us because we lost a rare jewel. Gwen Ifill, a national journalist taken so soon from the spotlight. She had a rich career working at the NY Times, Washington Post, Baltimore Sun, and the PBS Newhour. I never followed her career closely, but until recently mentioned not seeing her face during the recent presidential debates. Her life was cut short at 61. She had such an amazing life and many have spoken about her legacy of having an impact on so many people. Below are a couple of nice tributes about her life.

Opinion pages- NY Times Brent Staples, 11-14-16

grace-of-gwen

Example of Gwen Ifill- David Brooks, 11-15-16

This made me feel some kind of way. This woman has done so much in her short time here. It reminded me of all the people that have made a lasting impression on my life. I often wonder about the small community of women who have contributed to the person that I have become today. Will they ever know how much their time, wisdom, and kindness was appreciated? I often try to let people know through writing letters or sending cards. In this current political environment, what lasting efforts will you make to make the world better? I contribute by make small handmade gifts, calling, and sending cards to people that I care deeply about. I hope that after I go, my legacy to promote kindness and generosity will remain.

My newest knit hat project is called the Citadel by Beata Jezek. A quick knit with a lining. A great project for a quick gift. Many changes will come as I have figured out my gauge. It might not fit the birthday girl, but it sure will keep your head warm. Here’s my project page for Sweet Citadel (my personal project name). I used Malabrigo Rios and Rowan Superwash DK (lining). Notes have been updated in my Rav profile.

citadelhat2

What’s on your needles friends? Do you have any celebrity role models that you look up to?

Leave a Reply

