Self-care equals #knitting

Hello Knit Friends,

I have been working really hard to figure out if I should expend my energy on responding to the results of the recent U.S. election. My feelings about it aren’t even important at this point because I grew up in bible-belt Georgia. The acts of bigotry and disregard for people who are different was common place. The fact that Trump’s hate filled speech catapulted him to the presidency. I have learned the hard way that the America that I grew up in is the same America that showed itself after election day. I am disappointed that the American Dream was never meant for me because of the color of my skin, my agnostic beliefs, and my queer lifestyle.  The only jolt of surprise is the lack of participation from so-called Americans. No one really could predict that the third party interests and Christian fundamentalist women voters would tip the scale for Trump to become President.

my-activism

Below are several resources that I have started reviewing today to wrap my head around the reality that Trump will soon represent America. I understand the anger, fears, and anxiety that my fellow POCs feel because of the reality of what Trump’s presidency represents. I am thankful that I choose to use social media to stay connected to the marginalized voices that are often lost in mainstream media. A special thanks to my library friends for finding amazing resources. I’ve tried to be inclusive with the resources that I share so that allies and others who now realize that their neutrality is harmful.

Helpful article about how to ‘hold space’ for others who are dealing with difficult situations such as the emotional trauma of losing someone or even showing up to listen to people who upset about the U.S. election.

hold-space

9 Activist share stories of how they are reacting to the Trump Presidency

trumps-america

Music is a huge tool for bringing people together through challenging times. I use Spotify to help find some music to escape – Also Alicia Key’s new album Here is out. I find myself revisiting Tracy Chapman music too.

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar’s commentary on What it means to be Black in a Trump Administration

toni-morrison

For the intellectuals who likes to debate or read (like me) what a community of scholars have put together called the Trump Syllabus 2.0 – created by N. D. B. Connolly and Keisha N. Blain. It was created in June 2016 as the popularity of Trump began to grow. It is an objective reflection from all sides that include textbooks and commentary (below is a short summary)

trump-syllabus-2-0

I am a firm believer that there will always be work to do. Many of us have different parts to play. We also have freewill to exercise our choices in how we show up. Do we choose to standup and do something for those who are oppressed, hurt, and emotionally devastated? I choose to offer alternatives to help my community cope with the difficult road ahead. As we all watch the destruction of laws and government fight against the democracy of its people. I will try to remain hopeful in my belief in the resiliency of humanity. I will dive deep into my knitting or contribute to holding space for those who often feel alone and invisible. You are not alone knit friends- I see you and you matter.

 

Leave a Reply

