Pitter Patter Knits

Hi Knit Friends,

Man…this weekend was spend relaxing or at least catching my body up with my mind. I am filled with nerves. I think this might be a feeling that I am not used to sitting with. Normally when I feel nervous my body has a way of shutting down. I’ve got too much going on to give in to those emotions. I feel like I am finally living the mantra “living in a comfort zone is not living”. Or maybe I just made this up. I’m sure I whispered this ‘silent’ prayer to help me do better. My knit life has been on hold because of all the good things that are happening. I am learning to lean into this speed of life. To enjoy the benefits of my hard work. But also to not take too much comfort in my rewards because there is always more that could be done. I am sharing some IG images that are giving me “Knit palpitations”. I feel like if i generate a list then on my gloomy days I have more to choose from.

knitlovesept16
Photo credit from IG @anglovesgnomes in #lemmykshawl in @threeirishgirlsyarn Guinness colourway.

I need a nice holiday knit. And my next project will be…a fabulous cowl with delicious colorwork. Thanks to Donna Smith’s new design

donnasmithdesigns
Photo Credit IG @donnasmithdesigns #shallmillenssnood

Last week I met a friend at a LYS near work. It was such fun because we work in the same industry and have similar knitting preferences. I have been scared to do anything adventurous. It only takes small encouragement or agreements to KAL for me to cave. It isn’t a hardship because I finally found a sweater that I can envision myself making and wear. I cringe a bit because I have VERY LONG arms, but the cables are sooo inviting that I’m sure I can convince myself to do it. Or if I’m that sick of it by the time it’s over…I can become a vest. I am not that great at math, but my knit friend said she would hold my hand. When she described how she reworks and organizes her notes to make a sweater… my mouth dropped. How does she make it sound so simple. She said that since the front and back are cabled that I should knit them at the same time. Who ever said knitting is not a team sport— is a fool.

Nora Gaughan’s Mohr made with Brooklyn Tweed. I’m not into Tweed so I’m going to use Blue Sky Worsted in a light grey. It has a 4 out of 5 skill difficulty. I’m all about going hard especially for my first garment project. I have a good teacher. I feel lots of wine in my future (no while knitting).

 

One thought on “Pitter Patter Knits

  1. Twillingart September 19, 2016 / 1:50 PM

    Ooooh I love the scarf! Sounds like you have a good knitting friend too!

Leave a Reply

