Bye August and Hello Fall Knitting

Hello Knit Friends,

I’ve ghost in August for many good reasons. My new furbaby Eddie has been settling in with the old cats Sage & Pumpkin. I made great strides in accomplishing my career goals of presenting at a library conference. It was hard work and exciting. I’m so addicted now. There is a possibility of two trips next summer to do the madness again. Interviews and school have taken over my life in August so there has been hardly any knitting. I’m experiencing knitting blues again. I define Knitting blues as a state of perpetual sadness after finishing a knitting project.  I have read two separate posts from fellow IG knit bloggers littleminky93 and This Knitted Life who have talked about Fall Knitting lineups. I’d love to share my Fall knitting list with everyone:

A possible knitting crush visit to nearby LYS in early September to meet Jared Flood. I want to give him love for his  Cowichan-style Knitalong vest he created during   last year. I’m so sick-in-love with this man’s mind. I’m crazy in love with the colorwork and steeking doesn’t look too scary.

wp-1467858007430.jpg

My office is super crazy cold this summer, so I can never have enough cowls or shawls. I have my eye on this beauty that I found

wp-1472223920552.jpg

I enjoy Fall weather so much and fell in love with boot liners. I am going to make sure to get a pair of nice & durable fallish/winter boots for casual wear. Pam Allen’s Honey Boot Liners. These have been on my list for at least six months.

HoneyBootLiners

I feel like being bold…cutting my hair so that I can actually start wear more hats. I loved having short hair for this reason. I can’t make it out to the Shetland Wool Festival, but they have their annual knit themed free pattern. I’m salivating over Ella Gordon’s Crofthoose Hat.  (image:top) Another lovely hat that has my affection is Louise Robert’s Nova Scotian Sheeps pattern hat & gloves (image: bottom photo credit by Biscotte Yarns)


I feel like I’m on time out with socks….

Don’t tell my sock knitting friends. I couldn’t get my brain to configure gauge. I re-knit half a sock twice of Hunter Hammersen’s Marooned sock. I think I’m putting it on ice. I’m too tired to remake it in my size. I think it would be better gifted. I’m sure I’ll probably make another post soon to celebrate September’s arrival. I’m feeling the urge to make a shawl. Knit friends, what’s on your needles? Any sweaters in your future?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Bye August and Hello Fall Knitting

  1. Midnight Knitter August 28, 2016 / 2:28 AM

    Oh, I am in knitting and reading blues. I finished a shawl and a book yesterday, and I’m kind of sadly adrift waiting for the next project/book to bite me. This morning I went through the newest Vogue Knitting mag and I think I’m going to divert from shawls to sweaters for a few weeks. I absolutely positively need to knit http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/16-guernsey-pullover. I think I already have the yarn in my stash…

    • Ge Ge August 28, 2016 / 7:31 AM

      Yes, I was pleasantly surprised to find at least 5 patterns in the current Vogue magazine. That sweater is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

