#knitworthy Goodbyes

Hi Knit friends,

Parting is always sorrowful when you meet good people. Making new friends is difficult for me because I have a reputation for being fickle. My personality is the equivalent of quirky Phoebe Buffay from Friends and a swirl of Essence Atkin’s character Susanne from “Are We There Yet” series. I’ve accepted this reality in my mid-twenties, but it sure does make befriending people harder. I don’t believe that “like personalities”attract “like”. I believe like equals boring. I married opposite and my small circle of eclectic friendships have survived. I’m pulling for my new friend S to be a lifer.

wp-1467860709814.jpg

This project was completed a couple of months ago, but it took me a while to block it. No hard thing to do, but I can only assume my resistance is tied to reluctance to saying goodbye and letting go. New Friend S picked out the color for the project. I don’t know where my new friend will land geographically, but I am comforted by her knitworthy reputation. Then Comes Spring shawl has great meaning because it’s my first test knit that I completed within the testing date timeline. Knit friends, what is your favorite quick knit for gifts? Do you have knit gift limitations (i.e. socks for immediate family only).

4 thoughts on “#knitworthy Goodbyes

  1. introvertedknitter July 8, 2016 / 11:30 AM

    I love the shawl and the fact that it is for a knitworthy friend makes it all the better. My favorite gift knitting tends to be little monsters, knit out of scraps. I have only knit socks for family, but that will probably change soon. As for limitations on knitting it depends on the person, there are some people who I have knit for before, but won’t anymore because x,y,z kind of thing.I hope the friend loves the shawl, how could she not? Great job.

    • Ge Ge July 8, 2016 / 11:34 AM

      introvertedknitter, thanks for the compliment. I knit for friends and occasionally a stranger. This new friend is definitely worth it and I can’t wait until she gets it.

  2. toomanystitches July 8, 2016 / 8:15 PM

    Shawls are definitely a ‘special’ gift. I tend to like little amigurumi pieces for quick gifts. I much prefer doing small projects for gifts because it doesn’t give me to time to get bored and resent the project. For crochet, I tend to do doilies and bookmarks in fine cottons or bits of hairpin lace. Usually goes down well!

    Loving the shawl too and particularly your choice of colour!

Leave a Reply

