July of Hunter

Hi Knit Friends,

I’ve missed everyone so much. My normal blogging schedule hasn’t been happening. The frequency of posts is largely based on my moods. I try to be positive or at least ‘act-as-if’. This mantra I adopted from a mentor.

My last post I shared my disappointment with a sock pattern. Most of it was my fault and now I have found myself brooding. My knitting juju is low, but I can always count on IG to lift my spirits. The fabulous Hunter Hammersen just posted a mouth-watering knit worthy sock. I don’t even know the name of it. All I know is I’m obsessed with her design brilliance. She truly has a gift of balancing colors and capturing the right vantage point of a knitted object.

image

One day I’ll get to meet her. I missed her by a week because I was on vacation. I’ve never made cables…so this sock is a definite potential. I will even take classes just to do this sock.

So July will be the month of knitting a Hunter Hammersen design. I’ve already bought several patterns, but I’m on a yarn diet so I’ll definitely be stash diving. I’ve stalled on the Hermione sock. I love the yarn, I just can’t focus on one project.

image
Melanie Berg's Ingwer

I feel so guilty when I pick up another project, but the Ingwer shawl is bothering me. The pattern is well written, it’s the repetitive nature of 2 main stitch sequences. I like the texture of the shawl, but I need distraction of a fairisle sock. Knit friends how do you balance repetitive patterns? Big needle projects, one skein wonders, or crochet?

One thought on “July of Hunter

  1. Nicky June 26, 2016 / 2:41 PM

    I totally get where you’re coming from re posting. I’ve not been so consistent in posting since the year began and there’s been a couple of low periods since the year started. But I’m going to bite the bullet and make myself craft and post regardless to how I feel because crafting makes me feel better.

    The HH sock pattern and the yarn used look divine together, maybe a pattern you love and some sweet yarn will do the trick to get you out of your knitting slump. When I’m in a slump, I balance my knitting with crochet. It goes faster and I definitely feel like I’ve made progress when a project finishes quickly.

Leave a Reply

