Knitter’s Rule of 3

Hi Knitting friends,

wp-1465847435201.jpg

Last week was good as I celebrated turning another year older. This is probably the first time in a long time that I didn’t fret. I’m not sure if this will be a common theme, but I shall remain hopeful. In my old age, I’ve discovered that I tend to like rules. Or rather ‘suggestions’. In knitting especially it’s good to have a well developed pattern to follow and preferrably one that has a chart. The picture above is my 3rd attempt at making Melanie Berg’s Ingwer. I was swept away by the imagery, but for the life of me cannot keep my wits about me to get into a rhythm with this pattern. I’m certain it’s all my fault as I commute at least 2 hours daily and my wandering mind is to blame. My knitting ‘mishaps’ which I am susceptible of doing. My rule of 3 means there are 3 attempts to a project before I cry “UNCLE.”

Here is exhibition of my other WIPs. June might be a continuation of finishing. I struck out with Tour de Sock.

WIP 1: Tour de Sock: Week 1
Start date: 6/2/2016

image
Tour de Sock: Week one

WIP 2: Lilli Pilli Wrap
Start date: February 2016
Comments: I have to pull back 3 rows of lace.
image

WIP 3: Wandering Sock
Start date: March 2016
Comment: wonder way to start toe-up, but I lack motivation.

image

So friends, What’s got your pants in a twist? How many times do you give a retry? Sometimes I find myself dreaming about needing projects to avoid the lousy project that stumps me. What’s on your needles?

3 thoughts on “Knitter’s Rule of 3

  1. Jacquline Cappuccino June 13, 2016 / 7:20 PM

    I feel your pain. I just finished a top that I’ve been actively avoiding on and off for a year. I kept finding other things to do instead. haha Good luck with your projects! They look great so far regardless of the hiccups ❤

  2. Becca June 13, 2016 / 8:10 PM

    Gah – frogging 3 rows of lace seems painful. I don’t know about you, but I’m definitely not brave enough to just go full hog and rip. I’d have to tink every stitch back.

    I retry projects maybe twice. Most of the time when I’m having serious motivation issues or things aren’t working it’s because the yarn/pattern don’t like each other!

    • Ge Ge June 13, 2016 / 8:15 PM

      Yeah…this is a project good for knit nite circle. It’s a KAL by my suggestion, but it’s been a real drag. Hopefully I’ll get someone to supervise me.

Leave a Reply

