Cure for Knitting Blues

Hi knitting friends,

I enjoy knitting as a form of meditation. The ability to lose track of time or to turn a skein into a master piece is such a wonderful experience. I’ve seen several articles on social media confirming what all crafter know: knitting as healing benefits. I can also admit that I experience a small sense of sadness whenever I finish a knit project. In my earlier years of knitting, I’d feel so sad to finish a project– I’d then make two just to carry on those sparks of euphoria. So this also explains why I have an obsession for socks. The first one is a trial and error period and the second sock is when I coast through.

Instagram is my weapon to beat my self-diagnosed ‘knitting blues’. I made a draft board of photos to share shawls in my Ravelry queue. Special thanks for Kelsey of Primrose Yarn Co. For introducing me to beautiful colors and shawl. I’m probably going to learn brioche soon to make some exciting knitwear. What shawls are burning a hole in your queue friends? What’s your favorite yarns to make shawls?

image

5 thoughts on “Cure for Knitting Blues

  1. Midnight Knitter March 4, 2016 / 12:25 PM

    I was just thinking about doing a post on shawls! I have gone crazy putting patterns into my Ravelry cart and I dream of yarn combinations in my sleep. 🙂 I keep wandering Ravelry looking at color combinations. The shawls that I’m focusing on the most are Doodler and Exploration Station by Stephen West, Waiting for Rain, Picadilly, and Solis by Melanie Berg. Today I think I’m going to go wallow in the stash to see what I can put together. I may have to create a shopping list for the Interweave Yarn Fest next month…

    • Ge Ge March 4, 2016 / 1:18 PM

      Whoa… Interweave Yarn Fest where? You should totally do a board post. I also like Primrose Yarn Co and Arohatknit shawls. Very Shannon is also another designer that I love. Can’t wait to see your yarn choices.

      • Midnight Knitter March 4, 2016 / 3:16 PM

        It is at Loveland, Colorado, which is about a 90 minute drive from my house. Here’s the info: http://www.interweaveyarnfest.com/ I have a friend who is doing the entire shebang because she won a scholarship to the fest, and if I get too exhausted I’ll stay up there a night. 🙂

  2. Andrea @ This Knitted Life March 7, 2016 / 10:23 AM

    A friend of mine who is really into meditation told me you can actually knit while you meditate. Just sit and do stockinette or purl and focus on each stitch, mindfully thinking of nothing else but each stitch. I can’t quite do that, but I always mean to try. Otherwise, meditation stresses me out…Takes up too much time I don’t have.

    • Ge Ge March 7, 2016 / 10:29 AM

      Yes…I hear you. I have a long commute for work so it’s easy for me to get lost in stitches. Meditation stresses me out too. So I guess if you focus your energy on one task for about 30 mins you could reach that Zen place too.

Leave a Reply

