65° of knitworthiness

image

Hi Knit Friends,

February has been an amazing month. I’ve managed to work through my knit fears to learn how to make ‘an afterthought heel’ and block a wip. This weekend I’ve coined a new meaning to the phrase “knit worthy”– as I gain more experience with projects, I realise I’ve become a yarn snob. I like most yarns (sorry, not Noro), but I have my main stables: Tempting Ewe Yarns, Madtosh & Quince and Co.

I discovered a new yarn dyer during a trunkshow at my LYS this weekend. I discovered an new Indie Dye Goddess – Kelsey of Primrose Yarn Co . Kelsey is very close to me in York, PA. Not only is she very knowledgeable about her craft, but she is a professionally trained fiber expert. She has a warm disposition and has a wonderful eye. The colorway shades are both rich and rustic. She’s had her yarn business for over a year and her enthusiasm for knitting is so infectious.

She wore the Lilli Pilli Wrap and I fell in love. It’s a beautiful stripe and lace combination.

image

It wasn’t hard for me to choose colors. The 1st photo shows the stipe sequence (Helix bases) and I added Madelinetosh 80/10/10 fingering in El Greco from stash.  It is so addictive, I’m hoping to finish the first stripe section tonight. Here’s my project page

image

My enthusiasm of the pattern was so inspiring that I managed to convince my LYS to make it a KAL. I’m sure there will be another one in my future. I’m so full of joy and love when I discover knitworthy yarns like Primrose Yarn Co.

Extra notes:
Kelsey of Primrose Yarn Co has a regular podcast called Wool in the Wardrobe on YouTube. I love that she does yarn reviews and is so honest with her opinions.  I’m so glad to have met her in person. She also has a Ravelry group where she is hosting a couple of KALs. She’s a knitting machine and she knows her stuff. I can’t wait to see her first design.

One thought on “65° of knitworthiness

  1. Andrea @ This Knitted Life February 29, 2016 / 5:24 PM

    What fun to find your blog! I still haven’t tried an afterthought heel. It’s on the list though.

Leave a Reply

