Brunch & Knits 2016

 

 

Hi Knitting Friends,

I recently discovered Miss Shirley’s in Baltimore and took my wife to brunch at the Roland Park location. It was a great experience as always. The service and food was excellent. I tried the Chicken & Waffles. Parmesan cheese sprinkles on the waffles and light honey mustard on the chicken. My wife got the lovely bagel. Don’t be shocked…the bagel was mouth-watering. Smoked salmon, havarti cheese, red onions. It certainly looked good and I didn’t even get a bite. I took my first visit of the year to Fibrespace with a knit friend. It was a nice trip to see yummy yarn. I did my best to only purchase yarn that I would use immediately. Of course I am working on another pair of socks (details next post). I bought some self-striping Vesper yarn and some SweetGeorgia (red). I touched some Brooklyn Tweed Quarry, but I wasn’t thrilled to make a purchase.

wp-1454286117702.jpg

 

I am excited to announce that I completed my first project of 2016. Socks >> don’t be too shocked. I worked overtime to get them done in time for Valentine’s day. Gingy North’s Not Just Boring Dude Socks. I used Tempting Ewe Yarns my favorite Indie dyers. The colors are always so rich. It’s a greenish-blue tone that works well with lighter shin tones. I have three other projects that I working to complete so it took me twice as long to finish, but it was well worth it. This is definitely a sock that I plan to make again. I used size 2 DPNs, next time I’ll probably try using 1.5s instead. Knit friends, what on your needles? What’s your favorite vanilla sock?

wp-1454286105280.jpg

 

 

2 thoughts on “Brunch & Knits 2016

  1. hardknitlife February 1, 2016 / 7:04 AM

    1st off yum! Chicken and Waffles!? A girl after my own Southern heart 🙂 I also love the socks! They look so cozy and yahoo for the 1st FO of the year! I have used needles from 2.75mm (US2) to a 2.0mm (US0). I really like the fabric I get with 2.25mm (US1) and have a made a few pairs of vanilla/basic socks…cast on 64 stitches, 2×2 rib for a few inches, stockinette to the heel, traditional heel flap, pick up gusset stitches, do a few decrease, stockinette a foot then a toe topped off with a bit of kitchener (usually around 16 stitches worth). My husband got me Lara Neel’s Sock Architecture for Christmas last year and I’ve used the book to mix up my vanilla knitting to add in a bit of variety. Excellent read and chock full of sock info 🙂

    • Ge Ge February 1, 2016 / 7:09 AM

      Yes…I think I’ll try using 1.5 next time. The sock has a cashmere blend and it could be a fit tighter. I don’t like cashmere in my socks, but it certainly keeps you warm. I’ll have to look at Sock Architecture soon.

Leave a Reply

