2016 Intentions

Hello Knitting friends,

2016 has already started off on a great note. I said good-bye to my old office of four years. I made so many friends and had so many experiences that 2015 was a bittersweet event. I left with no regrets and lots of tentative lunch dates. The last four months have been an overwhelming experience of planning and meetings. A good friend of mine nudged me to start looking for new opportunities because I was loosing motivation and energy at my job. Although it’s been said that change is challenging, I’d also argue that the lack of motivation or passion is equally ‘soul-crushing’.

In 2015, I have enjoy watching myself grow professionally and personally. I seem to take life less seriously and have become more accepting of my personality quarks. I am slowly seeing the subtle reminders that I am gracefully aging. The things that bothered me in my 20s no longer hold me back in my 30s. I thankfully paying more attention to my intuition and less time with things that do not bring value into my life. I am looking forward to starting my new job and meet new challenges.

2016_beginnings

I am thankful for Instagram, which is an Introvert’s best friend. What better way to communicate or lurk with like minded people. I have met so many wonderful people and found so many opportunities that probably wouldn’t be possible without advancements in technology. The following list are things that I will be focusing on this year:

  • Improve knitting skills
    • Learn to cable– so many wonderful knitting projects with cables and I have lots of knit friends tell me how easy cables are
    • Take a knit class– I love my LYS and I’m more likely to focus and learn more through taking a class. Probably a project involving socks or a winter vest with color work.
    • Attend a Yarn Festival– I want to be at Rhinebeck this year. I have a couple of friends who go annually so what better way to commit with a group
  • Expand Reading interests
    • I read 56 books in 2015. I think I want to continue this trend and read 50 books. I want to expand my reading genres to non-fiction, cultural classics, a little sci-fi.
    • Join a book club
  • Find a genealogy mentor
    • Develop research skills and discover a genealogy filing system that works best for me
    • Work on family oral history with conducting interviews
  • Professional Development
    • Attend a professional conference
    • Organize an informal mentoring meet-up
    • Find a career mentor
  • Personal goals
    • Wellness plan- I am at my best when I exercise. I will continue to look for ways to stay active and take action to maintain a healthy physical/mental/spiritual balance.
    • Plan a family vacation- one will be on the West Coast with family. I am not a great planner, but I’m determined to make more time to relax this year. I also want to take several short vacation trips to Akron, OH, Philadelphia, and upstate NY.
    • Increase financial planning knowledge- this is my least knowledgable area. I am interested to look at trends of how people save and invest money.
    • Develop family digital album- my extended family has tons of pictures that have never been digitalized. I would love to help with converting print photos to an online vault.

So friends, what’s on your 2016 to-do list. What is in your knitting queues? Are you diving into a new technique or focused on WIPs?

One thought on “2016 Intentions

  1. bintakinte January 15, 2016 / 3:24 PM

    So good to hear your year started out fine as a knitted pair of socks. Take care and continue in the spirit of gratitude!

Leave a Reply

