Knitted Gifts and Extras

Hello Knitting Friends,

I have been very quiet this last month. I wish I could say that I was super busy with deadlines of knitted gifts, but it would be untrue. This last four months have been challenging. I have spent the last four years at the same company and position. I am happy to reveal that I will be starting 2016 at a new job.

Ruby_Wanderes

I decided to make my grandma some slippers while she recovers from knee surgery. We all know how much I love colorwork. This is such an amazing pattern. Thanks to a fellow knitter I found these via Instagram. Wanderers: Modern Mukluks. I am working on the second pair and will put in ‘afterthought heels’. The yarn is from an amazing Indie Dyer, Janel from Wandering Wool

In September, I broke my yarn diet and spoiled myself with Madelinetosh holiday club yarn. It was too irresistible to deny. A choice of yarn color with two different bases (BFL sock & quarter round), a project bag, stitch markers, and several unicorn tails for future heel/toe knitted socks. My choices were Pendleton Red & Winter White. I’m starting to like reds and greys. Madelinetosh makes the best greys.

2015 Madelinetosh Holiday Club

I also working on some new socks Not Just Boring Dude Socks for darling wife. I’ve just started the cuff, but they are going to be awesome (more pics soon). I also started on the Onward Shawl from my favorite designer Shannon Cook. I made a hat last year that made a wonder gift. I love her designs because they are written very concise and simple. One of the new frustrations that I have with patterns is that there are 5 different ways to write the same instructions. I dread patterns that have more than 3 pages.

Friends were you able to meet your knitting deadlines? What’s on your needles? Are you planning new knit goals in 2016? I’m working on my 2016 knit this weekend. Let’s hope all is well. Enjoy family and friends this holiday season, plus the unseasonably warm weather.

3 thoughts on “Knitted Gifts and Extras

  1. Evelyn N. Alfred December 26, 2015 / 7:42 AM

    Congrats on the new job! Did you get a position closer to home?

    • Ge Ge December 26, 2015 / 9:00 AM

      No…still in the city at a law firm several blocks from the old job. Might move next year to be closer.

  2. Nicky December 29, 2015 / 8:05 PM

    Congrats on the new job!!! May it be all that you need it to be.

Leave a Reply

