YOP Progress- Week 10

wpid-wp-1439344295652.jpeg

Hi Knit Friends,

I swear it seems like time is moving super fast. I am slipping on my weekly progress report. Who doesn’t want to talk about knitting?!? I haven’t put a big dent in my WIPs, but I have allowed myself to start multiple projects. Although I am on a yarn diet, I successfully traded yarn with a knitter recently. All my friends know that I am allergic to pink, I love Madelinetosh, but this shade of pink (Boulder) was definitely not to my liking.

Madelinetosh_Ella RaeI traded for 2 skeins of Ella Rae merino lace fingering weight. Teal and green color# 208. Photo credit from Knit-n-Crochet. I have some lovely sock ideas for this. I also picked up a new project called By the Seine River designed by Dona Knit Designs. I am too scared to rip out 100 Acre Woods sock project so I rationalized that having a new sock project was the next best thing.

Sock Challenge:

Solid Socks-bannerMy new sock obsession has led me to Ravelry’s SolidSocks group. This group is awesome because they have 2 separate challenges– one sock is based on theme/color and the other is a mystery KAL with a guest designer. I think this is the best way for me to stretch my sock knitting wings. I’m working on By the Seine River as my themed ‘artic’ for the Northern Lights in Auora Borealis >>>stop by my project page to see picture and matching yarn<<<

WIPs:

A Hundred Acre Woods– in timeout, pending ripped heel

Elwood– timeout

Falling snow– cast-on, but no progress

By the Seine River— one leg, heel turned

Newest Knit Obsession:

I just discovered a new knit sock designer Hunter Hammersen, whose design skills are  extraordinary. ‘Violently Domestic‘ is where she blogs, sharing her beautiful designs. Her newest book is called Curls (shawls galore). I entered her giveaway last week for a dream skein of blue from Vice to make her [badass] sock called ‘Gramercy‘ design. Anyone who knows the pains of having large feet and can design socks that look spectacular will always get my vote. So my latest obsession has me violently knitting a new pair of socks.

Gramercy_01

5 thoughts on “YOP Progress- Week 10

  1. Lucy Bowen September 9, 2015 / 4:48 PM

    Oh some gorgeous yarn in exchange! Love the new socks, what a fabulous colour.

  2. Becki September 9, 2015 / 10:31 PM

    It looks like you made a great yarn trade! :^)

    • Ge Ge September 9, 2015 / 11:00 PM

      Thanks. I’m obsessed with socks right now so I hardly have DK or worsted weight yarns. But now that Winter is coming that might change

  3. Minding My Own Stitches September 10, 2015 / 7:34 AM

    Oh I know all about knitting for large feet! Mine are size 11AA!!

    Hunter’s patterns are beautiful. I especially like her lacy socks but I haven’t made them because I don’t wear lacy socks (I don’t find them practical in shoes) and they wouldn’t suit anyone on my gift list.

    A sock group on Ravelry is definitely the way to go for lots of support and input from others knitting along. Sorry to hear Hundred Acres is in time out – what’s happening there?

    • Ge Ge September 10, 2015 / 9:57 AM

      The heel construct is simple, but I am unfamiliar with it. I ended up having to rip it out twice. Once– the sock was too big in width; Twice– I lost count working the heel flap. It’s fixable, but requires my full attention. This isn’t a ‘knit-nite’ job. Gives me an excuse to work on yet another sock.

Leave a Reply

