YoP- Week 9 Dramatic Update

wpid-wp-1439344295652.jpegHello Knit Friends,

Ever have a week where nothing exciting happens? Actually knitting is the only thing that makes me hysterical (i.e. ‘dramatical’) [made-up word]. This past week I was consumed with trying to cast-on toe-up socks. I believe I tried three times by myself and twice with help from my LYS friends. I’m using Plucky Feet and during my second attempt I made the sock as big as a small hat.

100 Acre

I wasn’t as focused this week because I got super excited about discovering a holiday stocking called Falling snow. This is definitely going on my ‘to make list’. I have yarn to make a ‘practice stocking’. I am a bit of a perfectionist so I figure it won’t kill me to start a practice one first.

Falling snow stockingWorks in Progress:

I didn’t get around to working on Elwood or Khuno cowl this past week. Applying for jobs has taken all of my energies during the week. I have completed 3 applications so far. Writing a cover letter gives me so much anxiety– I’d almost rather Kitchener my hand made socks. I’m trying to remain positive and I feel better once I change the location of my current job. A rare benefit to my work commute is that I have time to knit, but after a while I prefer to just work closer to home for my sanity.

I am working on A Hundred Acre Wood socks from Alice Vu. I am completely smitten with the sock. I love it so much despite it being a toe-up design. I ripped it twice, but I am determined to make it work. I finished 2 books in the Allison Brennan series. When I find a great murder-suspense series it’s hard to share knitting time.

100 Acres Socks

Knit obsessions:

  1. The sign of a devoted knitter is when they discover holiday themed knit projects. I’m proud to confess that I have contemplated making an NFL cowl with the Scoreboard KAL with partnership with designer Michelle Hunter and Skacel Collection, Inc. The idea of it is great, but I have so many other things that I don’t want to half-way do the project.
  2. I have stalked a new-to-me designers. I’m like a dog with a bone when I find a badass knit design. Francoise aka Arohaknits on Ravelry has keen artistic eye. The layout of her website Arohaknits is impressive, fresh, and inviting. Her choice in colors and lace patterns work for me. Her presence on Instagram is spectacular. She’s working on a design right now (see pic below) Arohaknits
6 thoughts on “YoP- Week 9 Dramatic Update

  1. Ruth September 3, 2015 / 12:01 PM

    Love the holiday sock of course a practice sock is great idea. Best of luck with the job applications.

  2. Becki September 3, 2015 / 12:22 PM

    That Christmas stocking is wonderful! I hope you find a job soon that improves your commute time.

  3. Francoise September 3, 2015 / 11:04 PM

    I wish you the best of luck in your job hunting! It can be so scary – I know I’ll be terrified when I have to return to the work force next year.

    Thank you for your lovely and kind words!

  4. Minding My Own Stitches September 4, 2015 / 7:05 AM

    It took me a bunch of tries to get toe-ups cast on in a way that I was happy with. Mostly I use this tutorial: http://fluffyknitterdeb.blogspot.ca/2005/10/knitting-made-easier-turkish-cast-on.html

    You’re off to a roaring start on Hundred Acre Woods – either you’re a very fast knitter or you really do have a lot of knitting time on your commute! My commute is about 2 hours a day but it’s driving, so there’s no knitting to be done. I hear you about changing jobs to shorten your commute. Good luck with the job hunting!

  5. Lucy Bowen September 4, 2015 / 4:54 PM

    I love your hundred acre wood and the stocking will be fabulous. Love your toe up adventures – you will crack them, but in the meantime you have got lots of hats!

Leave a Reply

