A Good Sock Hussy

Hussy1
Photo credit: Urban dictionary

Hi Knitting Friends >> I changed my Ravelry name to SockHussy2. I am old name was Fierybug08. My new name is a better name and I might as well embrace my sock hussy ways. And since the Farmer’s Almanac predicts that Maryland will be experiencing a harsh Winter– might as well lean into my talents. I have recently found another great sock challenge. I found this challenge in Ravelry called The Canadian Crazy Train, a sock challenge that appeals to me because you don’t have to be a veteran sock knitter. This will be a fun activity to do and one less goal to make.

The following aspects of this challenge include:

  • Sock train routes are country specific
  • Only one sock is knitted during competition
  • Canadian sponsors
  • Registration Oct 14-Dec 21, 2015
  • Crazy Train departs Jan 1, 2016 for 8 weeks
  • Meeting new knitters

I am back on a yarn diet. I think I will start a money jar for purchasing holiday yarn. Since I joined Instagram, it has become harder to ignore all that beautiful yarn. I have a growing list of sock yarns that I want to try. Knit friends, what factors do you consider before making colorwork or textured socks?

  • Biscotte & Cie
  • Tanis Fiber Arts
  • Lorna’s Laces Soul
  • Cascade Yarns Heritage Silk
  • Colinette Jitterbug
  • Patons North America (Kroy Socks 4 Ply/Sock Stripes)

I am still trying to figure out my next sock project. I am trying to find a textured or color- worked sock to capture my interest. Below are a couple of potential projects:

Tradescantia Zebrina; Keisarin Morsian.
Tradescantia Zebrina; Keisarin Morsian.
5 thoughts on “A Good Sock Hussy

    • Ge Ge August 23, 2015 / 12:59 PM

      See that’s what I’m talking about. The knitting community always taking care of their own. These are some bad ass socks. I’m about to cast on something colorful today, thanks!!!!

  1. GGmadeit August 23, 2015 / 3:55 PM

    Wait you just said you take donations on IG but on here you on a diet???

    • Ge Ge August 23, 2015 / 3:57 PM

      If someone gifts me something I’m not going to turn them down. I’m on a diet in that I will not make yarn purchases for the next 90 days. Semantics…lol

  2. Minding My Own Stitches August 24, 2015 / 8:24 PM

    I did the Canadian Crazy Train last year but it wasn’t really my thing. Several reasons …. very stressful to try to knit to fit a stranger’s foot … annoying to be forced to knit exactly as written with no modification… and unless you’re planning to knit the easiest patterns at the smallest sizes with the shortest legs then you probably won’t haul in too much in the way of prizes!

    I love Biscotte & Cie, and Lorna’s Laces and Tanis Fiber Arts. Kroger is work horse yarn for very durable socks, but not particularly soft. I just tried CoBaSi and gosh,I just love it!

Leave a Reply

