YoP- Week 7

wpid-wp-1439344295652.jpegHello knit friends,

This weekend seemed to go by slowly and for that I am very grateful. I managed to complete a project this weekend. I received many congratulations and increased positive ‘knit sock street cred’. Addicted to Sock Knitting FB group is one of my favorite and responsive communities. Every Wednesday is ‘promotion’ knit related things such as yarn and accessories. I’ve had a fairly decent experience.

Facebook moment: 177 likes on Addicted to Sock Knitting FB group
Facebook moment: 177 likes on Addicted to Sock Knitting FB group

Now that I have no new projects…except that small and pesky WIP pile. I just can get myself ready to start something new. Many times after I finish a project, it seems that I feel sad. Sad that the project is over and feel lost because my hands aren’t clutching needles. And I’m probably stalling because I need to finish a fair isle cowl. I’m trying to avoid size 10 needles. Isn’t that so silly?!?

Country Visits_8-12-15

I am happy to report that with my continuance of the Year of Projects knit journal I was able to increase readers. I was happy to see my friends from Canada, Ireland, and U.K. I’ve never been to any of these places, but I would like to put it on the map. With all these socks that I’ve put on my wishlist, this is another great reason to no only make them but wear them in those new cities I plan to visit.

WIP on deck:

Both projects have been casted on at least one time unsuccessfully. I am going to give the Khuno cowl again, but the Elwood cardigan will probably need a couple of private knit lessons in order for me to stay on the right track.

Khuno (cowl); Elwood (cardigan)
Khuno (cowl); Elwood (cardigan)

Knit obsessions:

I think on a monthly basis, I’ll probably showcase ‘new-to-me’ projects that I would like to do. On my blog reader, a knitter showed a Christmas sock she completed. Her #22… It’s gorgeous called Falling Snow Stocking. These next two are lovely projects that I want to do NOW– My wife loves this hat. This is a rare occurrence so I am definitely starting this. Maybe I can get it done by her bday in October. As for this AMAZING sock– gansy sock. I discovered these socks this weekend in Country Weekend Socks by Madeline Weston.

Pop Fizzle (brioche hat); Gansy sock
Pop Fizzle (brioche hat); Gansy socks
11 thoughts on “YoP- Week 7

  1. Ge Ge August 18, 2015 / 2:09 PM

    Thanks so much. I was surprised to get them done so quickly. I’ll probably make them again at some point.

  2. Lucy Bowen August 18, 2015 / 5:11 PM

    I love the socks. So what’s it to be next? Some lovely options.

  3. Ann August 18, 2015 / 7:18 PM

    The socks are a definite win. I hope you finish the fair isle cowl. It looks amazing.

  4. Ge Ge August 18, 2015 / 7:18 PM

    Well I have 4 to choose from. But I’m itching to make that holiday stocking. I just cast-on V Junkie by Alice Vu that I’ll unveil in this week’s update. I like the Gansey soxk, but I’m having issues with yarn selection. What’s the yarn weight after fingering? I’m looking for a yarn to match 3-4 size gauge. Any suggestions? I’m eying Cascade 200 sport.

  5. Becki August 18, 2015 / 11:19 PM

    Those socks are just gorgeous. Love the yarn! And, Ge Ge, I understand the feeling you describe after finishing a project In the past I would sometimes take long breaks after finishing a time-consuming project, but this YOP business keeps me moving along. It’s great motivation. :^)

  6. Iris August 19, 2015 / 6:12 AM

    Great socks, well done! That pattern has been on my to-do list for a while now and seeing yours I feel more enspired to finally cast on for them!

  7. Ruth August 19, 2015 / 6:27 AM

    The socks are great! I love them, interesting to see what will be next from the choices, so many lovely choices.

  8. Minding My Own Stitches August 19, 2015 / 2:29 PM

    Those are lovely socks, and a very nice pairing of yarn and pattern. And they look well fitting and comfortable as well, so good for you!

    Cute hat pattern but I’d be a little intimidated by all that stranded colourwork. My tension is never what’d I’d like so I’m often disappointed.

    • Ge Ge August 19, 2015 / 2:37 PM

      My wife talked me into it– she never makes requests.And it’s sooooo beautiful. It’s brioche and I live near a great LYS. I’m going to schedule private session soon. I hope to get it done as a bday gift– a motivation for me to push aside my fears.

  9. hardknitlife August 21, 2015 / 6:09 AM

    Consider me enabled!!! The socks, the hat, the cowl, the darling tiny sweater…How can I resist! Your Simple Skyp socks are beautiful! I know your feet will enjoy the warmth this winter! 🙂

Leave a Reply

