Knit Socks: 3 Great Reasons

Hello Knit Friends,

I have discovered an obsession to sock knitting several months ago. I have completed my fifth pair and I’m just getting warmed up. Last weekend I jokingly made fun of a heel knitting technique. I commented on a knitting group board that I wasn’t going to try a particular technique because it was over 4 pages long. So now I am politely eating my words as I printed out the directions. The finished projects look nice with this heel technique so I think I should just take a chance. The jury is still out on the outcome of the technique, but I will share soon about how I feel about it.

Why am I so crazy for socks? Here are 3 GREAT reasons

  1. Too many Ravelry sock knitalongs (KALs).Foxes in Socks and Stitch Addiction (view episode 73) podcasts is sponsoring a Single Skein wonder KAL for September 1-30, 2015. Some yummy prizes.
  2. Sock Challenges
      1. Found a new challenge Sock Sniper. IT’s for a great cause. I don’t know how I discovered it, but it is really cool. It’s almost like a mission impossible and death by knitting. You make a small contribution, receive a doisser, a pattern, then mail it to ‘the target’. The only extra challenge is that it is a global wide challenge. A great benefit is that you can sign up as a non-combatant participant and still get to see the actions of everyone around you. I hope to participate next year as an active agent. Here are the FAQs here. Deadline for sign ups: Registration will close on August 23, 2015 at Midnight (Central Time US) and for Non-Combatants on August 31 at midnight.  Battle will commence on September 1, 2015.

    Sock Sniper
    Sock Sniper
  3. Yarn Clubs– There are so many yarn clubs. Madelinetosh has both a yarn club and sweater club (Magnolia Society)– I have done the yarn club for the last two years. I like Madelinetosh because you get to vote on which colorway group that you choose. A new yarn club company I discovered is called Northbound Knitting (NKB). NBK has 6 separate yarn clubs which are open now. There are many more yarn clubs and a great way to justify ‘growing your stash’ organically. I also like getting small prizes throughout the year and being surprised.

So knitting friends…what’s share some of your joyful sock knitting moments? Is there a knitting sock technique that has you hooked? What’s your go-to sock yarn? What’s your all-time favorite sock book? Who is your favorite sock knit designer?

My Sock Favorites:

  1. Yarn club: Madelinetosh (Magnolia Society)
  2. Joyful Sock memory: modifying a sock pattern (heel) Almondine Socks
  3. Sock Yarn: Tempting Ewe (local yarn)
  4. Sock Pattern: Rose City Roller
  5. Favorite Sock Book: Socktopus by Alice Yu
  6. Latest Sock book acquisition: Custom Knit Socks
  7. Sock Designer: Kate Atherley  & Susan B. Anderson
3 thoughts on “Knit Socks: 3 Great Reasons

  1. Andrea @ This Knitted Life August 17, 2015 / 1:47 PM

    Awesome. I just got into sock knitting. A great list. I will check out Rose City Roller pattern for sure, among the other resources.

    • Ge Ge August 17, 2015 / 1:57 PM

      It is such fun. I’m pretty sure I’ve exhausted my book lending quota from my public library. Its very rewarding. Rose City Rollers were my 3rd pair and I feel have the best directions for newbies. It will be my summer sock for sure. Have fun knitting, can’t wait to see your first pair.

  2. Midnight Knitter August 17, 2015 / 6:33 PM

    I love Socktopus! Time for me to go look through its pages again…

Leave a Reply

