Community in Action

Hi Knitting Friends,

Last weekend we had very nice weather. I wore a light jacket and shades. I even treated myself to Ritas (Gelato, Italian ice store). Community among the knitting community is something that I found myself thinking a lot about lately. I consider myself a blended introvert. I made the word up, blended-introvert means that I am in the middle of the spectrum of introvert and extrovert. I enjoy having alone time to relax as most introverts will admit. However, there are rare occasions that I enjoy being around a large group of people. The beauty of knitting is that it is an activity for both introverts and extroverts.

Last week I started the Love Your Blog challenge (see last post) and wanted to share a neat story if how community and interactions occur my knitting community. Cloverhill Yarn Shop, my LYS has open knit night on Thursdays. Normally I attend Thursday nights, but we are sharing a car so my Thursday night knitting is on hold. As a surprise,  on of my knitting friends offered to pick me up from the train station to bring me to the shop. And my friends were fighting over who was taking me home. It’s nice to develop a friend circle and knitting groups are a great way to make lasting friendships.

Hitofude_3The thing I enjoy most about my LYS is the laughter and learning that we experience. Knitting is always talked about, but wisdom and courage is charged as well. I am starting my first cardigan project called Hitofude at my LYS. I sat near one person who has extensive crochet experience, but the cardigan will be her second knit project. Across from me sat an experienced knitter who has almost finished one Hitofude cardigan for her mother. We all are at different places in our knitting journey, but the great thing about this cardigan experience is that I know that I am not alone. I helped one knitter with the cast-on crochet set-up because she kept getting frustrated. I’m looking forward to walking through this cardigan project.

Hitofude Cardigan by Hiroko Fukatsu
Hitofude Cardigan by Hiroko Fukatsu
2 thoughts on “Community in Action

  1. Thinkering April 17, 2015 / 7:46 PM

    I like knitting groups because if there’s a lull in the conversation we all have something to do with our hands. There’s never any awkwardness. Wish I had a LYS close at hand!

  2. Midnight Knitter April 18, 2015 / 2:17 AM

    I’ve been looking at that pattern. Can’t wait to see how it comes out!

Leave a Reply

