Love Your Blog: Beginnings

Hi Knitting Friends,

First socks & cat Punky
First socks & cat Punky

This week the focus of ‘Love Your Blog’ is beginnings. My analytical mind cringes when I look at my first blog posts…back in June 2013. My birthday is in June so perhaps I was in a birthday high when I decided to try again at a new blog. I have surprised myself these last two years by only missing 6 months. I prefer solitude activities, but blogging for me is a way for me to shake out of my introverted state. Too much quiet time can be dangerous. I am so happy to look back at my beginnings. It is awesome to see that I documented my first blocking session. And still, I have yet to Kitchener this sad little cowl— colorful I might add

Multi-colored Netty on the blocks
Multi-colored Netty on the blocks

In some of my older posts, I share random recipes and knitting projects. Several things that help me to continue blogging is my ability to laugh at myself. I can make fun of myself and it doesn’t bother me. I like that this blog has changed and expanded. It is no longer just my digital podium to share my latest project. It is a place to connect with like minded people. I will be forever thankful for sock knitters who have given me so much encouragement. Others have provided support during my challenging times. When I go back to my old post, I realize that I am right where I am supposed to be. On this blog I can share small stories, knitting projects, and obsess about the latest designer/yarn. It is in these beginnings that I will make more friends and contribute to the knitting community. These are the things that make me smile.

upper: (multicolor Netty; Holden Shawl)lower: (Autumn leaves; Stockholm Scarf; Brown-eyed Susan)
upper: (multicolor Netty; Holden Shawl)
lower: (Autumn leaves; Stockholm Scarf; Brown-eyed Susan)
2 thoughts on “Love Your Blog: Beginnings

  1. Syd April 14, 2015 / 5:38 PM

    what an adorable cowl! I’m rooting for you to stitch it up soon so you can enjoy it 😀

    • Variegated Stacks April 14, 2015 / 7:20 PM

      Me too– I finally found written instructions in Kitchener stitch. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

