The Love Your Blog Challenge

Interactions and Community  image Hi Knitting Friends, I started reading a blog about Susan B. Anderson, a sock knitting celebrity on A Playful Day blog written by Kate. She (Kate) has created a new challenge to motivate crafters to fall back in love with their blog. I will honest that there have been times in the past where I have been ‘ghost’ with blogging. Not because I hated my blog, but because I didn’t feel like I had anything of significance to write about.

Luckily, Jenna (KnitHardLife) shared her 100 Reasons to Love to Blog. It has inspired me and I decided to join with others. I need to develop more virtual friendships and who doesn’t like to see notes from lovely crafters from time to time. For the past 3 months, I have been diligent and posted at least 5 different times. Looking back on my post, I am proud to say that I am watching my knit journey with satisfaction.

On Kate’s blog she gives several suggestions on how to engage readers and avoiding copying the same content on various social media platforms. How do I engage my readers? This past year I have tried to change my writing voice as if I am speaking to an audience. I try to create a friendly atmosphere. I have finally ended my statistics obsession. My focus for blogging is to capture my knitting journey rather than gain popularity. I have made several virtual friendship through blogging and I count it as a bonus. What are ways that you choose to engage with the blogging community? What pearls of wisdom can you share about creating seamless virtual dialogue in the crafting community?

Additional Notes:

Love Your Blog Challenge-a Rav forum group in aplayfulday Podcast

One thought on “The Love Your Blog Challenge

  1. hardknitlife April 10, 2015 / 12:27 AM

    Hi! I’m so glad I came across your post 🙂 I was perusing A Playful Day’s list from her post and turned up here. I’ll definitely be returning. Greatest piece of advice someone gave me about blogging that I try to use each time I post: be authentically you. Easier said than done, but just trust that what you put out there will connect with someone…it doesn’t hurt to put yourself in a few link-up parties and get a little active in the blogging group on Ravelry 🙂

Leave a Reply

