Football & Knitting

Malabrigo Rios 1/2 sock
Malabrigo Rios 1/2 sock

Hi Knitting Friends, there are three things that make me curse: Football, traffic, and knitting. I pride myself for my Southern manners, but these are a few exceptions. This week has been such a head turner. It’s been one of those weeks where you don’t know what day it is and wish there were 16 hours in one day to finish everything. I am just now catching my breath. I met a milestone this week by finishing my first pair of socks.

The NFL has always been a part of my family home life for as long as I can remember. Every Thanksgiving, our families sat around the television to watch the Cowboys play. Sundays dinners, football, and card games are things that I miss the most from home. Cloverhill Yarns Shop is my LYS that makes Sundays bearable. I spent last week focused on the socks. I was so excited because I was beginning to understand how to make socks. I got stuck on the ‘picking up stitches’ section of the sock, but I didn’t get discourage. I took the center-pull ball and started knitting the second sock.

Worsted weight: Suggest this for first socks
Worsted weight: Suggest this for first socks

My first sock was a simple top-down. It is not a pattern that a friend gave me.

Lessons Learned: This project was very wonderful. There were times that I got lost and needed to rip out several rows. I enjoyed using DPNs (size 6). I think I will really enjoy sock knitting because it is really quick. I will try toe-up soon. I joined an Facebook sock group called “Addicted to Sock Knitting”. This group has over 9000 people and they are very responsive.

Firstsock_03

Knit-Sock Whisper: I stumbled upon this sock designer’s blog while searching Ravelry for sock patterns. I HEART Susan B. Anderson. I found two important blogpost: (1) How to make socks and (2) formula for men’s socks. Susan B. Anderson shares so much wisdom with her readers. She shares photos of yarn and completed projects. I will definitely watch all her video tutorials about knitting techniques. I feel like a girl with a new toy.

What’s on your needles? What’s your favorite sock pattern?

2 thoughts on “Football & Knitting

  1. knitsxgrits February 7, 2015 / 12:07 PM

    Susan B. Anderson is amazing! I also learned to knit socks through her (well her book) and promptly fell in love with sock knitting. She also shared sweet words on Ravelry after I posted my project. Congrats on your first pair!

  2. Nicky February 12, 2015 / 7:52 PM

    Good job! I will check out Ms Anderson’s blog. I need to finish my first socks. 😀

Leave a Reply

