Knitting socks with headaches

Hey Knitting Friends,

How’s everyone doing? I am doing well as can be expected. I think I am experiencing anxiety caused by ’empty-nest knitting.’ It’s a similar phenomena that some parents feel when their children leave home. I feel anxious because I finished a project and now I tried two new projects, but nothing seems to give me knitting adrenaline. Hmm….this is totally a medical issue *sighs*.

First socks & cat Punky
First socks & cat Punky

I have made slow and steady progress on a sock using worsted yarn. I had to reschedule my knitting lesson because of the weather. I am thankful that Cloverhill Yarns shop (my LYS near home) is always available to offer help over the phone. I am happy that Thursday and Friday the shop is open so that I can Sit-n-Cry. I will say that I completely took advantage of help. Now I find myself at another dead-end with the sock. I wish I had another set of DPNs so that I can start on the other sock.

My last knitting confession is that I frogged the shawl that I started making for my aunt. I am still too frustrated with it. The 22+ page directions has caused me headaches. I wish I could just call the designer and get the quick 411 on the damn thing. I will swallow my pride and run back to the yarn shop this weekend. I’m looking forward to the Super Bowl, which has always been a holiday in my family. This year I will totally ignore it because I don’t like either team. The television will give great background noise. I will pause for Katy Perry’s Half-time show.

3 thoughts on “Knitting socks with headaches

  1. Midnight Knitter January 30, 2015 / 5:39 PM

    Hell hath no fury like an unloved sock! Sounds like it is time for you to cruise Ravelry… Seriously, I also struggle after I finish a project (or a good book) until I can get invested in the next one. Hope you settle into happy knitting before Super Bowl. 🙂

  2. Variegated Stacks January 30, 2015 / 8:01 PM

    Thanks for this…..I just need a mindless knit that is somewhat interesting. I’m cruising Ravelry tonight.

  3. Nicky January 31, 2015 / 9:35 PM

    OMG!!!! I’m going through the same thing. Now that my mood blanket is done, I don’t know what to do. I have projects I need to finish but I just can’t get motivated enough. Ugghhhh! I know I’m not helping but know … I feel your pain.

Leave a Reply

