Knitting with the Silver Linings

Hello again,

Even though my blog hasn’t had a lot of action, it’s not because I lack things to talk about. Recently I realized that there are different types of knitters. The knitter who is plagued by ‘Startisis’ (compulsively starting projects, but rarely finishing). The knitter who completes one project at a time (i.e. rare individuals). Or the knitter who compulsively reads knit literature, modifies projects, and updates their blog several times a month. HAHAHAHA– I’m just kidding, I have only described and experienced traits of the ‘startisis’  and ‘monogamous’ knitter. Well…I thought my humor comes across well in my writing *shrugs shoulders*.

Now for the ‘traumatic portion’ of my knitting experience. I have been working on a yarn project called the Brown-Eyed Susan by Juju Vail and Susan Cropper. It has taken me one year to complete it. It is a two color shawl, but has a lace ruffle. I have asked several knitting friends and wrote online in the Project Forum requesting someone to provide clear explanations for this knitted project. The knit project has caused me to curse profusely (which only happens while watching football). Last weekend I went to my LYS and I was so out of sorts that one knitter told me that I could modify the pattern and use a quick yarn-over/knit border. I’ve tried to talk myself into doing it this way, but I feel too much guilt. The lace boarder was the only thing that enticed me to start the project in the first place.

I want to share a ‘silver lining’ experience. During my recent move (i.e. ahhmmm eight months ago), I managed to arrange my yarn stash and books in my office. The office room is normally closed because one of my furbabies gets too frisky when left unattended. I am almost finish with a Quince & Co. pattern, but I needed to use the third skein of yarn I purchased weeks ago. I had a momentary lapse of memory. I forgot where I put the third skein. Luckily, I went back into the office and found it sitting on top of the book shelf. I am soooo relieved. I can’t wait until this project gets done so that I can submit it to the 12in2014 Ravelry group. I won a prize for my project last month. I never thought I was one for being motivated by prizes, but surprisingly when it comes to knitting– I can be persuaded. So the ‘silver lining’ for me is that not only have I saved money by recovering a skein– I also get a chance to start planning to make socks.

Leave a Reply

