Dear Future Sweater…..

Hi Knitting Buddies,

What led up to you making a sweater? Was it the colors, cables, quick knit or just plain beauty. I have been knitting comfortably for two years. Two years of knitting accessories and a baby blanket here and there. I currently have four sweater patterns + yarn to accompany each pattern. Why is it so hard for me to commit? Oh boy, that’s just another story in and of itself. I don’t know why I am so reluctant to move on over to making a sweater. Part of me cannot wrap my brain around 1400 yards. Oh how I wish I born petite and regular sized. But alas, I am talk and lanky. Knitting Buddies, my question to you is— what would you consider be a newbie sweater? I love doing color work, but not the kind that involves steeking.

Image
Bristlecone Pullover By Allyson Dykhuizen (Knitscene Winter 2013)

 

3 thoughts on “Dear Future Sweater…..

  1. Nicky October 26, 2013 / 7:07 PM

    Sweater knitting initially seemed to me like something very intimidating. I had a mixture of respect and fear at the beautiful knitted garments out there. Respect at the time and commitment a sweater took and fear that I’d never be able to make one.

    Once I made my first, it opened up a lot of patterns for me, then a sweater became just another opportunity to learn something new. It can be done like any other project … one stitch at a time.

    Maybe you should try a baby one first to get rid of any trepidation you might have.

  2. Rachel October 28, 2013 / 6:10 AM

    I knitted my first sweater through Looped Yarn’s sweater class. I think it was good choice and I could ask questions and had motivation to continue to finish it.

  3. Variegated Stacks October 28, 2013 / 9:32 AM

    Thanks Nicky,

    I have one baby sweater that I’m eyeballing. Camilla Baby Sweater from Quince and Co. I’ll take your advice and start with a baby sweater. This sound doable.

Leave a Reply

