Knit & Chez Mashup

This weekend was a bust when it came to my attempt to start the WIP KAL/CAL marathon. I went  to visit a dear knitting buddy and I swear Jared Flood’s Autumn Leave Stole project has been my Achilles’ heel. Not two, three, but FOUR times I have ripped this project out

1st attempt (Left); 4th attempt frogged (right)
1st attempt (Left); 4th attempt frogged (right)

In addition to the headache, my first attempt convinced me that I was doing this completely wrong. You can see that the pattern is off by several stitches. I realized that I was doing the SSK wrong. Man…all this time I thought I was doing it right. I got hung up on the 10 stitch repeat.

In other news…my latest food adventure paid off. I love cheese….yeah yeah… So I whipped up some oven baked spaghetti. This is definitely something that I will do again. Too bad none of my friends live closer because I had a lot to share.

ricotta, mozzarella blend cheeses
ricotta, mozzarella blend cheeses

I found an ‘oven-baked spaghetti’ recipe online and modified it to include:

1 lb ground turkey

1 pack of Lipton onion mix

1 green bell pepper

16 ounce ricotta cheese

1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese

2 cups of Kraft monzarella cheese blend (Romano, Asiago, Monzarella, Parmesan)

24 ounce Bertolli spaghetti sauce (tomato & basil)

2 eggs

16 ounce spaghetti noodles (cooked)

Directions:

  1. Boil spaghetti noodles
  2. In one mixing bowl, scramble 2 eggs with 1 cup of mozzarella blended cheese
  3. Saute bell pepper and onions until translucent, cook ground turkey and then add bell pepper, onions, and spaghetti sauce
  4. Drain spaghetti noodles, add to cheese/egg mixture. Coat noodles completely.
  5. Layer (2 quart casserole dish)- start with adding half noodles, add half of ricotta cheese; add meat mixture. Add 2nd half of noodles and top with ricotta.
  6. Baked covered at 350 degrees for 40 mins. Uncover add shredded cheddar cheese for 30 mins. or until browned as desired.
  7. Let stand for 10 minutes to cool. Slice to serve.
Leave a Reply

